‘New Horizons’

Saturday September 14th 2019 at 8.00pm Sunday September 15th 2019 at 2.30pm

Venue: The Performing Arts Centre, Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar School, Noel St., Ivanhoe
Guest Artist/Soloist - Natsuko Yoshimoto


El Cid Overture


Violin Concerto in D Major


Adagio in E Major for Violin and Orchestra


A Somerset Rhapsody


Radio City

El Cid remains one of Miklós Rózsa’s most revered scores, written in the glorious orchestral style he employed on Ben Hur and other historical epics.

Stravinsky was not so much interested in individual virtuosic display, but rather in the solo violin combining with other instruments. He admired Bach’s Concerto for two violins and this is reflected in the baroque subtitles of the movements (Toccata, Aria, Capriccio). This work shows his characteristic changes of meter, pulsating repeated notes and joyous violin acrobatics.

The serenity of Mozart’s Adagio is enhanced by the small classical-sized orchestral accompaniment.

A Somerset Rhapsody conjures up images of a pastoral country becoming filled with human activities, while Daugherty’s Radio City is his incredible tribute to fiery conductor Toscanini and the NBC Symphony.