Russian Knights

Saturday April 06th 2019 at 8.00pm

Venue: The Performing Arts Centre, Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar School, Noel St., Ivanhoe
Guest Artist/Soloist - Yinuo Mu


Dance of the Knights


Concerto for Harp and Orchestra in Eb Major


Symphony No. 5 in D minor

Dance of the Knights, also known as “Montagues and Capulets” is a score from Prokofieff’s ballet Romeo & Juliet. With its strong horns, stirring bass, and energetic strings, this composition is one of his most popular works.

Glière’s Harp Concerto is beautifully crafted and packed full of delicious and alluring melodies. Stylistically, it is reminiscent of the Viennese classical style, with a tinge of Russian romantic nationalism.

Shostakovich’s Fifth Symphony, his so-called apology to Stalin, was presented to the Soviets as a result of “just criticism”. In this memorable symphony the listener is taken on a musical journey of enormous power. The music is meaningful, gripping and satisfyingly classical in its approach to form.