“The Modern Age”

Saturday June 15th 2024 at 7.30 pm

Venue: The Performing Arts Centre, Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar School, Noel St., Ivanhoe.
Guest Artist/Soloist - Alison Mitchell


The Golden Age Suite Op.22a


Concerto for Flute and Orchestra FS119


Concertino for Flute and Orchestra Op.107


The Grand Canyon Suite

The Modern Age reminds us of the surge in imagination in art, science and politics during the1900s and 1930s and the vast innovations in music.

Shostakovich’s first ballet The Golden Age is a satirical take on the cultural and political uproar in Europe and Soviet Union in the late 1920s, fizzing along like a Charlie Chaplin comedy-thriller.

Carl Nielsen, Denmark’s most prominent composer, created the flute concerto, inspired by his travels through Italy. Chaminade’s virtuosic concertino is lyrical, demanding and even a little cheeky.

The Grand Canyon Suite is Grofé’s masterpiece of pictorialism and orchestration inspired by the sunrise, profoundly inspired by the magnificence of its colours, its colossal stretch and the roaring silence…and so he began to write his wonderful musical picture.